Tech-Tip Friday – How to wipe your iPad

Apr 03, 2015 Categories: Tech-Tip-Friday

Happy Good Friday :0)

Today here’s a quick tip to wipe your iPad and make sure your personal information doesn’t fall into the wrong hands!

Of course, you won’t want to wipe everything on a regular basis!

But there are times you might want to!

If you upgrade, or decide to sell your iPad, maybe online. Or you might decide to give an older model iPad to your kids, you’ll likely want to make sure that all the information on there is gone.

You can even remotely wipe an iPad using the Find My iPhone app – if it gets stolen or lost, you can be sure that no-one gets your data, even if your iPad is gone for all time. Read more about how that works here.

It’s a fairly easy process to wipe your iPad and reset it to Factory Settings –

  • Open up the ‘Settings’ app
  • Click on ‘General’
  • Then scroll down to ‘Reset’

There are a few options here – you can just reset the settings (which will leave the content like photos etc intact) or you can Erase All Content and Settings. This is the one you’ll want if you are giving your iPad to someone else (either selling or passing it on).

reset your ipad

 

  • Choose ‘Erase the Settings and Content’ and enter your passcode (you do have a passcode set up, right?).
  • It will ask you to confirm your choice.

That’s it! Now your iPad is ready for someone else to use – without all your emails, settings, notes, photos, videos…and whatever else you might have on there.

Do you give your kids your older electronics? Do you think that’s a good idea? Let us know your thoughts in the comments…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *